Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,




I sometimes work with hearing impaired folks. I have friends that are hearing impaired. We use sign language to communicate. As a hearing person, I am not nearly as fluent as my impaired friends, but I can make myself understood, and they patiently help me understand them. Sign language is beautiful and expressive! It uses not just the hands, but really, the entire body to express ideas or concepts. American sign language, or ASL, is NOT translation and rarely translatable! It is not just a series of gestures. It is an interpretation of concepts communicated very individually to others.

For years, I worked with a young boy in our local congregation. I signed the music for him, and sometimes, I did the sermon, too! I fell in love with SIGN and taught myself the basics. Then, one of my friends discovered her little boy was hearing impaired. Hmmm So I was able to help the parents, babysit once in a while so they could have a night off … Anyway, that began my love affair with sign language.

I hope you enjoy the videos of songs signed in ASL.



A beautiful performance by Mercedez Waldman using American Sign


“What Hurts The Most” by Rascal Flatts, expressed in American Sign Language.
[All lyrics and music are property and copyright of Rascal Flatts. I am not the owner, nor do I take any credit. No copyright infringement intended.]



Miley Cyrus’ single “Party in the USA” performed in American Sign Language by Stephen Torrence. Lyrics below as always. Enjoy! (and BIG thanks to Bill Creswell for the subtitle track!)


“Love Story” by Taylor Swift, expressed in American Sign Language.
[I do not own anything. All content belongs to Big Machine Records & Taylor Swift. No copyright infringement intended]

ALSO! Add yourself as a FAN on my Facebook Fan Page!
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ally-ASL/207129801391
(or search Ally ASL!)



ASL Song – American Sign Language version of Casting Crowns “Praise You In This Storm”

In the midst of the storm lingering over this great nation, I will praise the One who established her with a Godly heritage and a righteous mission. I will do my part to spread the word, to look for truth and share it, but in the end, it is God who raises up, and God who will put down.

Is there anybody out there,
Anyone else afraid to care,
Disengaged, I lived comfortably numb, but
God rearranged me ’til I’m sane.

Yet the high-priced pundits in DC
Will play their games while they may,
But come cool November’s election day,
A lofty potent price they’ll pay!

Inspiration Monday

Thanks again, BEKINDREWRITE! Inspiration Monday XX