Tags

, ,


TOTAL Change of Direction tonight:

When I was three years old, my mom threw me to my dad who was standing in 5 ft of water at the local swim club. He caught me. The second time I swam about half the length of the pool. The third time … dad stayed with me as I swam the entire length of the 25 meter pool. That was the beginning of something so perfect, so educational, so edifying for me that now, after 22 yrs of being a landlubber, only swimming in backyard pools, I have returned to the 25 meter pool lap pool. It’s been 3 weeks since I returned to the water and I cannot tell you how good it feels.

I’m up to 3/4 of a mile (46 laps of a 25 meter pool). It takes me maybe 40 minutes which is not super fast, but … after all I’ve been out of the water for 2 decades!

However, there is a controversy – naturally! In all my years of competitive swimming, we was always discouraged from the use of commercial workout apparatus, so when the owner of the pool Tuesday encouraged me to use fins, I recoiled at the idea – maybe even visibly! After all, I was moving nearly as fast as though using them. What is the point? Of course, at this point in time, there are many different styles, sizes, and functions to the use of fins. OY! Who’da thunk it? Something so simple, so natural has been so complicated … and it’s not even government run!

Thinking deeper … I’m swimming to get myself back into some sort of shape, so why would I use fins (or flippers) to give me an advantage and make it easier? I went to the web to confirm my gut feelings, and sure enough confirmation is what I found. Swimming with Fins – How Swim Fins Help Your Swimming So, for now, I am a purist! Using only what God has given me, plus the usual suit & goggles, I will work out 4 times a week for about an hour and get stronger and healthier so I can keep up with the BS in Washington, Harrisburg and my local community! After all, I’m a gramma now!

